Welcome to The Short Story competition 2015!

Thanks to everyone for submitting to The Short Story competition 2015. The longlist is found below:

  • A Year of Crime
  • Clay for Bones
  • Down the Knackers
  • Gerardo Dreams of Chillies
  • Innocently Sinister
  • Invocation
  • Irrational Happiness
  • Off the Rails
  • Only the Stars are Dancing
  • Pearl Divers and Flower Maidens
  • Sanatorium of the Unpublished
  • We Were All Perfectly Happy

Background to The Short Story competition

Set up in 2011 and now in its fifth year, it showcases the best short stories from around the world. Three cash prizes will be awarded:

First prize: £300

Second prize: £150

Third prize: £50

The deadline for submission: 15th September 2015.

Entry fee: £5 (PayPal only)

The winners will be published on the website and may be included in a future anthology. See Past Winners for previous prize-winning stories, including two Costa Short Story Award winners. Winners will be announced in December 2015.

Click on the Submission Guidelines for more details and follow me on Twitter @theshortstory11.

And here is a picture of the anthology, Best of The Short Story, Volume 1, from the first 3 years of the competition, sitting on one of Kerry’s cushions. A free copy was given to every contributor and to everyone who had been involved in the competition from the beginning. Too many to mention here, but you know who you are. Thank you!